8 cylinder front engine iconic vehicle
By Stepson
I had new covers made for the seats in my 89 S4. The new covers were sent to me and I had a local upholsterer install the new covers on the seats. Although the local upholsterer came recommended, I wasn't especially happy with the job they did.
For one thing, they broke one of the seat wiring harness connectors. If wasn't bad enough, they also broke one of the seat switches and attempted to cover up the damage by gluing the switch back together.

In attempting to rectify my misfortune with these bozos, I bought a new seat harness to replace the one with the broken connector, and I bought a new seat switch. Upon installing the new hardware, the seat will not recline. Checking the specific seat motor function with 12 volts directly to the connector for that seat motor, the seat reclines perfectly.

So apparently the issue involves the new harness and/or the new switch.

I am not an electrician nor have I ever played one on TV, but I can follow directions (somewhat, according to Rhonda, which is probably true)

Can someone look at their 1989 seat wiring diagram and direct me as to which harness terminals should have what color wires and how the seat switch connects to the seat motor that controls the recline feature? Greatly appreciate it!
By worf
Seat/Mirror Memory or not?
By linderpat
Following. I tried to fix a similar problem with no luck
By Stepson
worf wrote: Wed Aug 04, 2021 7:43 pm Seat/Mirror Memory or not?
Yes sir. Memory seats and mirrors.

I have a idea that the power harness with the broken connector that I replaced that is supposed to supply power from the body to the seat switches, etc is not. Like maybe the pins in the connector are not in the position?
By worf